Welcome to the first Themed Thursday on Searching for Wow. Themed Thursday will be every third Thursday of the month. This month, it happens to fall the day after I had mouth surgery. (No, I didn’t do that on purpose.) With this surgery, I can’t exactly eat whatever I want. I’ve been put on a soft foods diet per the doctor. I call it the Perio Diet (because the surgery is done by a periodontist). I’m also not allowed to bite into foods no matter how soft they are and the food has to stay in the non-surgical side of my mouth. Below you can see a snapshot of the “diet” portion of the post-surgical instructions.surgery dietThis is actually my fourth and last surgery of the kind so you could say I’m somewhat of an expert on what I can eat post-surgery. But after my first surgery, figuring out what to eat was rather difficult. You have to be creative, and I personally wasn’t feeling up to being creative. Since then, I have put together a list of foods that are diet appropriate so I don’t have to do spur of the moment thinking when I’d rather just sleep and watch mindless TV. I’m sharing my Perio diet with you because having some ideas about what to eat would have helped me immensely the first surgery. So if you, or anyone you know, will be having mouth surgery where soft foods are required, take a look. It might provide new ideas. In the days following, I’ll post the recipes to any tasty and Perio diet approved meals.

 Breakfast

  • Eggs
  • Banana
  • Yogurt
  • Cottage cheese
  • Apple sauce
  • Soft breads
  • Pastries such as cheese Danish (no raisins or nuts)
  • Pancakes
  • Soft French toast
  • Omelet
  • Breakfast burrito

 

Lunch & Dinner

 

  • Soup (I stay away from tomato based) such as potato, split pea, navy bean, chicken noodle, egg drop with no celery or green onion (tip: prepare or purchase your soup about 20 minutes before you plan to eat it to let it cool enough so it won’t damage the work done)
  • Mashed potatoes or sweet potatoes (with no marshmallows or nuts)
  • Baked potato (with no bacon or chives)
  • Pastas or gnocchi with Alfredo sauce (I stay away from tomato based sauces)
  • Macaroni and cheese
  • Rice
  • Scalloped potatoes
  • Soft French fries or soft sweet potato fries
  • Chicken or ham a la king
  • Chicken pot pie (with semi-soft crust)
  • Chicken & dumplings
  • Corndogs
  • Hot dogs
  • Bean & cheese burritos
  • Grilled cheese sandwich
  • Meatloaf
  • Turkey & gravy
  • Stuffing with no celery or almonds
  • Cooked (soft) veggies
  • Cheeseburger pie (with semi-soft crust)
  • Casseroles
  • Grapes (seedless)
  • Pudding
  • Jello

 

 

