It’s been almost two weeks since my surgery and I’m finally sitting down to start blogging again. Part of it’s procrastination, I’ll admit, but part of it is because I’m a little like a cat. I eat, I sleep, I wake up to patter around a bit, then I eat again, then go to sleep. It’s really not that bad, I exaggerate slightly. When I say I patter around a bit, I’ve gone shopping or just out for a walk for a bit of exercise, played video games with Mars (he claims to have purchased the PS4 specially for me so I would be entertained during my recovery…), or watched TV with Wing. But I get tired easily because of the surgery so I usually go on one small excursion a day with my mom, then it’s back home to rest.

Anyway, as this is a food blog, I’ll get to the point. I’ve eaten a lot of foods in this time (in the first few days, I felt sooo hungry!), but most of it wasn’t wow-worthy (like cottage cheese and yogurt or not-so-tasty but edible homemade split pea soup) so it won’t make it on my blog. Actually, this scalloped potato recipe isn’t wow-worthy either, and normally it would be a Friday Failure (as it sort of bubbled over and out of its dish while cooking and the potatoes weren’t completely soft), but it’s perio-diet approved and it wasn’t bad for a quick and easy side (for a recipe that usually takes about an hour in the oven), so I decided to post it anyway.

Scalloped potatoes

You can see where the sauce spilled over into the microwave

I found the recipe in one of my mom’s old cookbooks (1979 to be exact). It’s a microwave cookbook called The Microwave Guide and Cookbook brought to you by General Electric, Co (or more commonly known as GE). Below is my version of their recipe.

Quick scalloped potatoes

  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt & pepper (or to taste)
  • 1 tablespoon onion powder *
  • 3 cups milk
  • 3 1/2 – 4 cups thinly sliced white potatoes (about 3 medium)
  • 1-2 cups Cheddar cheese, shredded (optional)
  • Paprika (optional)

In melted butter, mix flour and seasonings. Gradually stir in milk. Microwave on high for 8-10 minutes, stirring every 3 minutes.

Layer half of potatoes, half the sauce, and half the cheese in greased 2-qt (microwavable) casserole dish. Repeat layers. Cover. Microwave on high for 17-19 minutes, stirring after 10 minutes. Sprinkle with paprika if desired.

* If you’d rather use minced onion (the recipe calls for 2 tablespoons), layer them with the potatoes (I simply forgot to chop any because I had a surgery-addled brain so I opted to use powder last minute).

