Although San Diego’s weather hasn’t yet realized that it’s December (trust me, I’m not complaining…), it’s finally cool enough to enjoy a piping hot bowl of soup. But in my case, since my post-operation instructions don’t allow me to consume anything piping hot, I get to enjoy my bowl of soup lukewarm. I suppose that’s an appropriate and fair trade — enjoying lukewarm soup on a not-so-hot-yet-not-exactly-cold day. Anyway, they say soup is good for the soul, but I say soup is good for the healing mouth/body. It’s perio-diet approved (when served lukewarm), nutritious, and tasty.

The chicken and dumpling soup was flavorful and the dumplings were flaky throughout. However, I made them rather large (I put them in using a whopping tablespoon and they tried to take over the pot). I recommend actually following the directions and making them the size of a real tablespoon (so they’re dainty and won’t try to take over the kitchen). Also, there was a ton of leftover dough, but I’ve left the recipe intact, just in case making them smaller allows for more room for more dumplings. Next time, too, I’ll season the dough just a bit. I think I’ll try some onion powder and parsley to see how that goes. Unfortunately, I have no idea where I got this recipe, so I’m unable to give credit where credit is due. But thanks to whoever you are!

Chicken and dumplings

Chicken & Dumplings

  • 2 cans (10.75 oz ea) condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 3 cups water
  • 1 cup chopped celery (I used about two teaspoons celery seed)
  • 2 onions quartered (I used 6-8 pearl onions, whole)
  • 1 teaspoon salt and pepper, or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon poultry seasoning
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
  • 5 carrots, sliced
  • 1 package (10 oz) frozen peas
  • 4 potatoes, roughly diced
  • 3 cups baking mix
  • 1 1/3 cups milk

In a large pot combine soup, water, chicken, celery, onion, salt, pepper, and poultry seasoning. Cover and cook over med-low heat for 1 1/2 hours. Add potatoes and carrots; cover and cook for 30 minutes. Remove chicken from pot, shred it, and return to pot. Add peas and cook 5 minutes longer. Add dumplings.

To make dumplings: Mix baking mix and milk until a soft dough forms. Drop by tablespoons into boiling stew. Simmer covered for 10 minutes, then uncover and simmer an additional 10 minutes.

